Meet Ally Love

Ally Love has had several prominent careers. She’s performed as a dancer for the New York Knicks. She’s toured with contemporary ballet companies, and she’s modeled in ads for Under Armour, Health, Self, and Victoria’s Secret. She’s currently the in-arena host of the Brooklyn Nets and she’s a Peloton instructor. She’s also the founder and CEO of Love Squad, a fitness and lifestyle website that empowers women.

Why Ally Love Is Mentally Strong

Ally’s successful career path has taught her that it’s important to value progress over perfection. She acknowledges that she’s often put too much pressure on herself to be perfect and to be liked by other people. But, she’s working on learning how to cut herself some slack.

What You’ll Hear on the Show

What to keep in mind when someone criticizes you The question you should ask yourself when you put pressure on yourself to be perfect How to recover from mistakes How to aim for realism over perfectionism How to accept that not everyone is going to like your choices How to think of progress like compound interest and why that’s important  How to stop pressuring yourself to feel happy all the time What to do when you’re being too hard on yourself

What You’ll Learn About Mental Health and Mental Strength

Some people assume that mental strength is about always striving to get to the top at all costs. After all, shouldn’t you be strong enough to push through the pain or to persevere no matter what? But sometimes, true strength can be seen in our attempts to make progress, rather than strive for perfection. Taking a day off, recovering from a mistake, and rebounding from failure is part of the process. So rather than assume you should be so strong that you never mess up, true strength can be about knowing that you’re strong enough to recover when you make a mistake. 

Quotes From Ally

“I sometimes think I have to be happy all the time. I have to be okay. All the time. I have to do all the right things all the time. That in itself is trying to be perfect.““I cannot continue to rely on this idea of everyone liking everything that I do. I have to like who I am and what I do in their lives.““My happiness is not in the hands of my husband or my family or my followers. It’s in the hands of me.”

More About the Podcast

The Verywell Mind Podcast is available across all streaming platforms. If you like the show, please leave us a review on Apple Podcasts. Reviews and ratings are a great way to encourage other people to listen and help them prioritize their mental health too.